More Strict Enforcement Of Tobacco Vaping Ban Will Start At Sulphur Schools

Resignations, Employment Approved At Monday’s School Board Meeting

The Board of Education approved changes to the enforcement of the tobacco-free campus policy at their regular meeting Monday night. The policy bans smoking, vaping, chewing, dipping, etc. at school or at any school function held on or off school grounds.According to the new changes discussed by school board members Monday evening, under-age students who are now caught with tobacco/vaping products will be reported to the ABLE Commission and strict fines will be enforced. Failure to pay fines could result in loss of, suspended or not being eligible to get a driver’s license. This 24/7 tobacco, vaping, e-cigarett campus free policy includes students as well as adults.

Following a brief executive session, the board approved the resignations of Courtni Billings, Ruth Barber, Tracy York and Renee Patrick. The employment of Sahara Butts, Tracy Jones, Tessa Davis, Kayla Bearden and Harlee Hare was approved. The extra-duty pay scale and support staff pay scale were also approved.

To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Sulphur Times-Democrat

P.O. Box 131
Sulphur, OK 73086
PH: (580) 622-2102